Ghosts of Harvard

Amazon Editor’s Pick for “Best of the Month”

Goodreads “May’s Most Anticipated Novel”

Named a “Thriller that Will Have You on the Edge of Your Seat This Summer” by PopSugar

Named an “Addictive New Thriller” by Book Riot

Teen Vogue Book Club Title

Parade Magazine’s Best Thriller & Mystery of Summer

Praise for Ghosts of Harvard

The New York Times Book Review

“Edge-of-your-seat tense . . . Fans of Jodi Picoult, Kristin Hannah and Chris Bohjalian, meet your new issue-based page turner. You may need to use a few precious paper towels to mop up the tears.”

The New York Times Book Review

Library Journal (starred review)

“Vivid and engaging…this book begins as a thriller and ends as a story of personal growth and redemption.”

Library Journal starred review

Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Ghosts of Harvard is so many things—a rumination on grief, a glimpse behind the ivory walls of a famous institution, a poignant look at mental illness, and a powerful story about the ghosts that haunt us all.”

—Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Jon Land, The Providence Journal

“The Ghosts of Harvard presents a postmodern gothic tale wrapped in the fabric of a traditional thriller, with sterling results. A magnificent mix of the Henry James classic The Turn of the Screw with Donna Tart’s The Secret History.”

—Jon Land, The Providence Journal

David Baldacci, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Ghosts of Harvard is written with a masterly, focused hand, belying the fact that this is Serritella’s debut novel. A triumph in every respect.”

—David Baldacci, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

“Every time I thought I knew where Ghosts of Harvard was heading, I turned out to be wrong. Part mystery, part ghost story, part psychological thriller, this novel is all entertainment.”

—Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post

“A sweeping and beguiling novel … ventures into territory that is rarely explored these days…. [Serritella] takes readers on jaunts into forgotten graveyards and spooky ‘whispering wall’ corners’….”

—Maureen Corrigan, The Washington Post

About Ghosts of Harvard

In this page-turning and affecting debut from New York Times bestselling author and columnist, a Harvard freshman becomes obsessed with her schizophrenic brother's suicide. Then she starts hearing voices...

Cadence Archer arrives on Harvard’s campus desperate to understand why her brother, Eric, a genius who developed paranoid schizophrenia took his own life there the year before. Losing Eric has left a black hole in Cady’s life, and while her decision to follow in her brother’s footsteps threatens to break her family apart, she is haunted by questions of what she might have missed. And there’s only one place to find answers.

As Cady struggles under the enormous pressure at Harvard, she investigates her brother’s final year, armed only with a blue notebook of Eric’s cryptic scribblings. She knew he had been struggling with paranoia, delusions, and illusory enemies—but what tipped him over the edge? With her suspicions mounting, Cady herself begins to hear voices, seemingly belonging to three ghosts who walked the university’s hallowed halls—or huddled in its slave quarters. Among them is a person whose name has been buried for centuries, and another whose name mankind will never forget.

Does she share Eric’s illness, or is she tapping into something else? Cady doesn’t know how or why these ghosts are contacting her, but as she is drawn deeper into their worlds, she believes they’re moving her closer to the truth about Eric, even as keeping them secret isolates her further. Will listening to these voices lead her to the one voice she craves—her brother’s—or will she follow them down a path to her own destruction?